RAINY DAY READING LIST

I’m learning to find time for a good book. Laying back, resting my head and immersing myself in the words.

On holiday I read whilst dangling my feet at the side of the pool, I always find it easier to read in the sun. Despite the brightness, I could sit with my back in the heat all day, lost in the words. In summer, two of the books I read were; The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins and Disclaimer, by Renee Knight. If you love hair-raising thrillers these are definitely perfect for your reading list.

I couldn’t let go of them, I read them on the uncomfortable flights and continued them on the comfy sun loungers , my hands were glued. My mum would have to nudge me a good few times to get my attention. Now back at home in my drawer, the books are all battered and salty from being splashed by kids playing around in the salt-water pool. Now, it’s about time I continued my reading habits into the cold and dreary seasons until my next holiday comes around.

WHAT’S NEXT?

     1. INTO THE WATER – PAULA HAWKINS

9780857524423

As Hawkins’ is such a highly rated author, I really want to read some of more of her work. She has nailed romantic thrillers but, this new book, out in May, focuses more on breakdown of family relationships. Into The Water tells the story of two sisters drowning in toxic secrets, bringing about a lot of psychological suspense and making detectives out of all of us.

2. SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE – SARAH SCHMIDT

30114212

Now, forget romance and welcome a full-on, eerie crime thriller. See What I Have Done, retells the 19th Century reality of a woman tried for the brutal, mysterious murder of her parents. Historical fiction based on real-life crimes is becoming increasingly popular and this book makes you question the truth behind a great unsolved mystery. I know it’s going to be impossible to look away from this one for even a second.

3. UNFILTERED – LILY COLLINS’ AUTOBIOGRAPHY

lilycollins_finalcover

Not long ago, I realised that I have never actually read an autobiography. This is probably because a lot of them are corny and cliché, and I’d rather not waste my time. However, I saw that Lily Collins was promoting her autobiography, Unfiltered, on Instagram and it caught my eye. Lily is one of few actresses that I admire.  I particularly like her for the fact that, throughout her acting journey, she has made an effort to appear herself, ‘unfiltered’ she may say. Unlike a lot of celebrities with fake personas, I think it will be interesting to see just how real Lily Collins can be whilst being exposed to a world full of money and glamour.

 

E.B. x

 

Leave a comment